Grassroots Support – General Assembly

The institution’s grassroots support is provided by 145 permanent members.
We would be delighted if you could collaborate with us also.

With a desire for transparency and respecting the Data Protection Act, we publish the list of those persons and associated entities that have given their express consent.


As stipulated in our Articles of Association, the Board of Directors (the association’s principal governing body) is elected by members during a General Assembly.

The Board of Directors is responsible for defining the association’s identity, mission and vision, and supervising, promoting and ensuring that this identity and mission is properly developed by the professional working team.

The Board holds plenary sessions 10 times a year and is currently made up by:


Nieves Fernández Vicente

+ info

Vice President

José María Villate

Txema Villate

+ info



Nuria López de Guereñu Ansola

+ info


Federico Blanco Fernández

Board Members

Guillermo Dorronsoro Artabe

Guillermo Dorronsoro Artabe

+ info

Arrate Arin Tapia

Arrate Arin Tapia

(on behalf of Eusko Ikaskuntza – Society of Basque Studies)

+ info

Virginia Gómez Sierra

+ info


Iñigo Arbiol Oñate

+ info


Marta Urrutxi Gallastegi

+ info


Álvaro Ortega Santos

+ info


Auxtin Ortíz Etxeberria

+ info


The task of designing the strategic and operational working plans and putting them into practice is the responsibility of a professional working team, made up by:


Arantzazu Acha

Administration and Finance

Institutional Relations

Txabi Anuzita

Education Programme. Factoria 4.7

Samuel Fernández Diekert

Culture Programme

Begoña Guzmán

Eskura - Human Rights Educational Resource Centre

Zaira García Dafonte

Environment Programme. Gender Focal Point

Documentation centre. Web site and social networking

Rubén Íñiguez


UNESCO Etxea has an advisory council at the highest level. It was set up on 21 September 2005, the International Day of Peace, and is made up of people of international standing in our areas of work and accompanies our organisation in its most strategic and long-term work.

The Advisory Board of Honorary Members of UNESCO Etxea is made up by:
Mr. Federico Mayor Zaragoza

Former Director General of UNESCO. Former Chancellor of the University of Granada. Former Director of CSIC (Spanish National Research Council). Former Minister of Education and Science. Chairman of the Culture of Peace Foundation. In 2005 he was appointed Co-Chair of the High Level Group of the Alliance of Civilisations by the Secretary General of the United Nations. He is a member of the Academy of Fine Art.

Mr. José Antonio Ardanza

Former President of the Basque Government.

Mr. Fèlix Martí

Honorary Chairman of the UNESCO Centre in Catalonia. Honorary Chairman of Linguapax.

Mr. Daniel Innerarity

Philosophy Lecturer at the University of Zaragoza. Guest lecturer at La Sorbonne. Winner of diverse essay awards (Espasa, Miguel de Unamuno, etc.), including the National Literature Prize (essay category) in 2003. Researcher of Ikerbasque Foundation at the University of the Basque Country and Director of the Institute for Democratic Governance.

Mrs. Juana Carro

Former staff member of UNESCO.

Mr. Joaquín Achúcarro

Internationally renowned pianist, named Artist for Peace by UNESCO. Winner of numerous prizes and international awards, including the National Music Prize and the Gold Medal for Fine Arts. Member of the Academy of Fine Art. Decorated with the Great Cross for Civil Merit. Holder of the Estes Tate Chair at the University of Dallas.

Mr. Txomin Bereciartua

Honorary Chairman of the Novia Salcedo Foundation.

Mr. Carlos Fernández-Jaúregui

Former Deputy Director of the World Water Assessment Programme (WWAP) of the United Nations system (Paris, France), Former Director of The United Nations Office to Support the International Decade for Action ‘Water for Life’ 2005-2015 and Director of the “Water Assessment and Advisory – Global Network” (WASA-GN).

Mr. Manuel Lezertúa

Former Director of Legal Advice and Public International Law of the Council of Europe. Since may 2015 is the Ombudsman of the Basque Country (Ararteko).

Mrs. Silvia Escobar

Former Human Rights Ambassador of the Spanish Government. She was the first Director of the Spanish Section of Amnesty International.

Mr. Ion de la Riva

Former Ambassador in India, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Nepal. Former Ambassador, Permanent Delegate of the Kingdom of Spain to UNESCO since 2011 to 2012. Founder of Casa de América (Madrid, 1991) and of Casa Asia (2001), of which he was its first director. Former director of the FIND – India Europe Foundation since 2012 to 2014.

Mr. Jon Arrieta

Founding President of UNESCO Etxea (1991-2001). Founding Partner of the Labayru Institute. President Emeritus of the Novia Salcedo Foundation. Founding Partner of the  Basque Group of the Spanish Chapter of the Club of Rome.

Mr. Ruperto Ormaza

Founding Partner of UNESCO Etxea and President since 2001 to 2016. He is currently Vicepresident of the Spanish Federation of UNESCO Centres (FECU).